10 Books I Want to Read in 2017

So I just got done transcribing my latest video under the same title – and oh boy!! I’m so sorry – there’s not really any information there! So I’ll put it here – and I vow to prepare better in the future – bearing in mind my limited time to film and edit (so I won’t be re-filming anything I’ve already done – which is most of Jan) I just vow to do better in the future. There’s always so much to think about – anyway.

So the list – here it is….

1. Girl Boss by Sophia Amoruso
2. The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett
3. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
4. The Girl Who Saved The King of Sweden by Jonas Jonasson
5. A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson
6. Wild Swans by Jung Chang
7. The Children of Men by P.D James
8. The Time Machine by H.G Wells
9. Pereira Maintains by Antonio Tabucchi
10. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

So let’s take them one at a time.

 

1. Girl Boss by Sophia Amoruso

I want to read this because so many YouTubers I watch have read it. It seems like it will be really inspiring. It’s a non-fiction book about the author’s journey in setting up her own company which she began on Ebay selling vintage clothes.

 

2. The Colour of Magic by Terry Pratchett

I want to read this because I’ve never read Terry Pratchett and this seems like a good place to start. My Dad really enjoys this series – Disc World, and we often have the same taste.

It’s a collection of books set in a fictional world that is flat and riding on the back of a tortoise, whose riding on an elephant – is that the right way around? I’m not sure.

Still, you get the idea – it’s a little out there. Kind of the realm of Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. That’s the impression I get. So I don’t expect to love it, but I’m all about getting a really rounded picture of literature – I don’t know why.

 

3. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

I believe I was right in what I was saying about this one.

Except to add that apparently it’s a social novel. So it’s really about the people and how they were affected by their changing world.

North and South uses a protagonist from southern England to present and comment on the perspectives of both mill owners and mill workers in an industrialising city – according to Wikipedia. I suggest you go there if you wanting any further information. 🙂

 

4. The Girl Who Saved The King of Sweden by Jonas Jonasson

I really just want to read this because I’ve read another of his books and really enjoyed it – I know nothing about the storyline other than what we can see from the title.

 

5. A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson

I like this author and I like learning things. I always want to broaden my knowledge. This book covers topic such as; the origins of the universe; the gradual historical discovery of the size and age of the earth; relativity and quantum theory; the present and future threats to life and the planet; the origins and history of life; and the evolution of man.

I don’t actually buy into the evolution of man as such, but I’ll read it with an open mind.

 

6. Wild Swans by Jung Chang

I articulated pretty well why I want to read this in my video – but I wasn’t really able to shed any light on what it’s actually about – probably because I don’t know!!

Amazon says it’s “a tragic tale of nightmarish cruelty and an uplifting story of bravery and survival.

Through the story of three generations of women in her own family – the grandmother given to the warlord as a concubine, the Communist mother and the daughter herself – Jung Chang reveals the epic history of China’s twentieth century.”

So there you go.

 

7. The Children of Men by P.D James

When I saw that this was a book – I knew it would be right up my street, having some idea about the concept, from the film.

It’s set in the year 2021, and it’s a changed futuristic world. It’s really hard to explain – I suggest you read it. I’ll let you know after I have.

 

8. The Time Machine by H.G Wells

It’s a classic and so I own it and must, therefore read it!

Just kidding – kind of. I do own it and I do want to read it. I’ve read H.G Wells before and I quite like um.

Wells is generally thought of to be the guy who at least made the notion of time travel via vehicle popular. So he didn’t exactly invent the idea but he coined the term “Time Machine.” That’s good enough reason for me!
9. Pereira Maintains by Antonio Tabucchi

I don’t know who the author is that said it was their favourite book. I think it might have been Stieg Larsson who wrote “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.” But I can’t find the reference to check.

Anyway that’s how I found this book and why I’ve been wanting to read it for a year or so, and it’s finally cheap enough for me to buy on my kindle. It’s hard for me to justify much on a book when I still have so many that I haven’t read!

It’s the told from the perspective of Dr Pereira who lives in 1938 Portugal, a country under the fascist shadow of Spain, and an unlikely alliance.

Or so I’m told.
10. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

So, this is a modern classic I’ve not read yet. That’s basically my reason. Afghanistan, 1975: Twelve-year-old Amir is desperate to win the local

Here’s what it’s about courtesy of Amazon…

“Afghanistan, 1975: Twelve-year-old Amir is desperate to win the local kite-fighting tournament and his loyal friend Hassan promises to help him. But neither of the boys can foresee what will happen to Hassan that afternoon, an event that is to shatter their lives. After the Russians invade and the family is forced to flee to America, Amir realises that one day he must return to Afghanistan under Taliban rule to find the one thing that his new world cannot grant him: redemption.”

 

And those are my ten books! Here’s the video in case you landed here first!

Leave a Reply

