My Acne Story

Okay, I finally just need to explain this to you all. I’m going to take you on a journey with my skin. We’re going to really experiment with it and hopefully learn a few things.

A lot of us have struggled with our skin at some point in our lives. If you’re not one of these people, maybe this post is of no interest to you, or maybe your interested it what it can be like for the rest of us who pine after your flawless complexion.

I actually vaguely remember what it was like to be one of those people. I didn’t really start having problems with my skin until my early twenties! And then it just hit me, all of the sudden.

Now I’m not trying to claim I had or have the worst acne ever seen but I do have hyperpigmentation which means for every little spot I get, I have a nice reminder of it for a month or so afterwards, so my skin became very marked.

And over the last few years, it seems to just explode through the winter time. And that’s where I’m at now.

So this is me taking action. As of the 29 December last year (so just a couple of weeks ago) I basically quit makeup for a while.

I’d been piling it on over Christmas to be photo ready in an instant, and my husband and sister-in-law’s boyfriend had a thing or two to say about it.

Now my sister in law is gorgeous -it’s a very popular opinion, and her boyfriend was kinda teasing her about the fact that she really doesn’t need makeup and how he loves seeing her face at the end of the day when it’s all come off.

Now they’ve not been together too long so you could think that’s all just be sweetness and flattery, but it really isn’t. She has good skin. That whole family does, and she really doesn’t need to be covering it up – that said – she does a really good job of it and doesn’t go overboard – so each to their own. I definitely understand the fun of putting on makeup and how good it makes us feel.

So add that to hearing what Alicia Keyes had to say about the whole thing (she’s given up makeup if you haven’t heard – she felt like her profession kind of forced her to wear it – like she had to hide her skin – anyway she feels much freer.)

My husband has no need to flatter me. We’ve been married 4 years and while he appreciates the effort sometimes, he usually just turns his nose up at it and given my oily skin type, I do struggle to keep it looking fresh all day.

The point is this, I am NOT wearing foundation for the foreseeable future, in the hopes that it will help my skin and then won’t need it.

I’ll still film wearing it, and do makeup looks and wear it for special occasions (I do love how it looks) but I don’t want to need it the way I have been for the past few months. I want to free myself from that need.

And it’s been really interesting. I was so scared to do it, but it’s strangely making me feel more confident in my skin.

I don’t see anyone looking down on me or thinking less of me and I actually still feel pretty.

Now I’ll let you into a little secret – my little cheat if you will.

I haven’t given it up completely – it’s mostly about the skin. So every day I still define my eyebrows. I think it helps me to look a little more put together, and some days I’ll remember to put on mascara, and on the odd occasion I’m looking really tired and haggered, I’ll use under eye concealer.

My spots are all on show. Wanna see?

Leave a Reply

